In Vaikuntha Not Even The Leaves Fall     First    Second   Third   Fourth   Fifth   Previous   Next

The Origin of the Jiva, Controversy

First Wave: Siddhanta 


Part 1

The first wave has ten chapters. 

Chapters One and Two give the verdict of Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura on the origin of the jiva.  He says there are three types of jivas: Those in Goloka having their origin from Lord Baladeva, in Vaikuntha from Lord Sankarsana, and those in the material energy from Lord Maha-Visnu.  This last type of jiva has always been in the material world and is called nitya-baddha, but they can become nitya-mukta by pure devotional service. 

The Third Chapter is based on the works of Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati.  According to him nitya-muktas are never influenced by the material energy. 

The Fourth Chapter gives references from the writings of Srila Prabhupada, who sometimes said that no one falls from Vaikuntha and sometimes said that jivas fell from Lord Krishna’s pastimes.  We have cited only his statements supporting the first view because the second view is widely known among devotees.  Why Prabhupada made contradictory statements on this issue is answered in the Second Wave. 

In the Fifth Chapter we give evidence from Sruti, Vedanta Sutra, Govinda Bhasya, Agama, and the Narada Bhakti Sutra all in favor of no fall down from Vaikuntha. 

Chapter Six gives evidence from Srila Jiva Gosvami.  We also refer to the commentaries by Srila Visvanatha Cakravarti Thakura on Srimad-Bhagavatam.

 Chapter Seven includes evidence from the writings of Srila Rupa Gosvami, Srila Raghunatha Dasa Gosvami, and Srila Krishnadasa Kaviraja Gosvami.  Thus, in the first seven chapters of the first wave we give the verdict of our prominent acaryas. 

Finally, in chapters Eight, Nine, and Ten we discuss the meaning of the word anadi (lit. beginningless).  It is the philosophical term most commonly used by our acaryas for describing the conditioned souls.  It is a difficult concept to grasp but crucial in understanding the subject of the book.  Readers are advised to read these chapters carefully.     First    Second   Third   Fourth   Fifth   Previous   Next

Your Comment(s), will be Appreciated! "Thank You"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x