“Moving Forward”
Section “Prologue”
Preliminary & Essential Information
CLICK: Here on this “Item” for Additional Section Prologue “Links”

Section "Prologue Audio"

Other Sections Text:

Prologue    One    Two

    Three    Four  

Segment 8.1
What Will Happen to the GBC, If They Do Not Follow Srila Prabhupada’s Orders and Instructions
Part 1

In the following references, please pay attention to the bold & underlined portions,

Srimad-bhagavatam 1.13.15 Purport:

This is our position. Anything… If you are walking on the street, if you kill an ant by walking, you will be punished. This is nature’s law. We are in such a dangerous position. In every movement there is punishment. Now, if you believe the sastras, that is different thing. If you do not believe, then do anything you like. But from sastra we can understand the laws of nature, or God, is very, very strict, very, very strict. So-Manduka Muni also chastised Yamaraja, that,

“In my childhood, without any knowledge I did something and for which you have given me so great punishment. So, you are not fit for becoming a brahmana or ksatriya. You become sudra[1].”

So, he was cursed to become sudra. Therefore, Yamaraja took his birth as Vidura and was born in the womb of a sudra mother. This is the history of Vidura’s birth. So Vidura was Yamaraja. Not only he was Yamaraja, ordinary, but he is one of the great authorities. There are twelve authorities mentioned in the sastra, (the 12 Mahajanas). One of them is Yamaraja. …

Yamaraja is one of the GBC of Krishna. Yes. As we have got twelve GBC’s, similarly Krishna has got GBC’s. …

That twelve men are authorized to preach Krishna consciousness. So, we have to follow.

Sri Caitanya-caritamrita-Madhya-lila 17.186,

“Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu continued, ‘Dry arguments are inconclusive. A great Personality whose opinion does not differ from others is not considered a great sage. Simply by studying the Vedas, which are variegated, one cannot come to the right path by which religious principles are understood. The solid truth of religious principles is hidden in the heart of an unadulterated, self-realized person. Consequently, as the sastras confirm, one should accept whatever progressive path the mahajanas advocate.’”

Therefore, we have created these GBC. So, they should be very responsible men. Otherwise, they will be punished. They will be punished to become a sudra.

Although Yamaraja is a GBC (of Krishna), but he made a little mistake. He was punished to become a sudra. So those who are GBC’s, (in ISKCON), they should be very, very careful to administer the business of ISKCON. Otherwise, they will be punished. As the post is very great, similarly, the punishment is also very great.”

Letter to: Kulasekhara, (Colin Jury), Digvijaya, (Dick Withey), Tirthapada, (Tim Austin), Los Angeles, 31 July, 1969,

So, this initiation means the preliminary chance for preparing oneself to achieve this highest perfection. I am very glad that you are already interested in the Krishna Consciousness Movement, and you will please chant at least 16 rounds daily, observing the rules and regulations. The four principal rules are that you will refrain from,

  1. Meat-eating or partaking of fish or eggs.
  2. Illicit sexual connections.
  3. Intoxication (including cigareties, coffee and tea).
  4. In addition to these rules there are ten offenses to chanting the Maha Mantra which should be avoided. These rules are as follows; please take special note of number 3:
  1. Blaspheming the Lord’s devotee.
  2. Considering the Lord and the demi-gods on the same level.
  3. Neglecting the orders of the spiritual master.
  4. Minimizing the authority of the Scriptures.
  5. Interpreting the Holy Name of God.
  6. Committing sin on the strength of chanting.
  7. Instructing the glories of the Lord’s Name to the unfaithful.
  8. Comparing the Holy Name with material piety.
  9. Inattention while chanting the Holy Name.
  10. Attachment to material things while engaged in the practice of chanting. 



[1] Sudra—a member of the fourth social order, laborer class, in the traditional Vedic social system. He is meant to render service to the three higher classes, namely the brahmanas, the ksatriyas, and the vaisyas.

[2] Six Gosvamis—they were deputed to go to Vrndavana to excavate the present places of pilgrimage. The present city of Vrndavana and the importance of Vrajabhumi were thus disclosed by the will of Lord Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu. See also: Rupa Gosvami, Sanatana Gosvami, Jiva Gvami, Gopala Bhatta Gosvami, Raghunatha Dasa Gosvami and Raghunatha Bhatta Gosvami.

Your Comment(s), will be Appreciated! "Thank You"

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x